5 Minutes Timer

Hello, I’m new with wfview and have a question about the standard 5 minutes PTT timer.

How can I deactivate the timer?

Reason is that I want to stream our weekly local HAM Podcast to the repeater. This should be done without interruption. The setup: VLC - VB audio cable - wfview (Windows 10)- LAN - IC 9700.
a 2nd question: what are the best settings for this kind of broadcast on the IOC 9700.
thx fer ur support 73 QTH Vienna

Hi Max,

You have a good question! In the US, we are not allowed more than 3 minutes continuous (even if we’re doing some kind of allowed “broadcast” we have to “let it drop” every 3 minutes), so I had not really considered how to disable it. Plus it was very handy in the beginning when I first started working on wfview and things could actually get stuck (not so much an issue anymore).

I will add a setting and checkbox for this next time I am working on the code. If you are at all into coding, we just need to comment out the pttTimer->start(); calls in wfmain.cpp, of which there are only two. This reminds me… you can bypass the PTT timer if you connect in via the rigctld emulated server using a program like flrig. I don’t think we run any timers on remote PTT commands. See here for how to use rigctld. We didn’t address flrig on that page but the setup is almost the same. You could also fire up a command-line rigctl client and manually run the PTT command. It would be something like this:
rigctl -r localhost:4533 --ptt-type=RIG
Command is “T” and then a “1” or a “0”. I have not tried this in a while so you may have to experiment a bit.