Compile of WFVIEW and WFSERVER on AARCH64

Hello all

I have been trying hard to compile WFSERVER first, but that doesnt compile on RPI4 neither i386 or armhf,armel, arm64…

I then tried to compile WFVIEW(.pro) made Makefile and usually get stuck on either rigctld, or moc_audio. CPU Util goes 100% and I had to drive to QTH to power cycle the RPI4b 8G RAM twice.

I never thought that g++ process would kill the machine’s running staate, but when make -j is executed, ssh will stop working and all get’s stuck.

I am no programmer so question to the team - is there a way to find out?
(Funny that if I go to debian repos and find a .deb for either aarch64 or armhf, I am able to get wfview packages going (if I manually install all dependencies).

73 Jiri OK2IT

PS - yep, still using daily WFVIEW on RPI3B amd IC7300 to sometimes run 80m local net.

Last issue I have is that from time to time RF seems to still get through to the USB Port and when there is short period , wfview just crashes and I had to VNC in and re-launch - hence WFSERVER attempt with a crontab.

Try running make without the -j. It will take a long time but this will limit it to compiling only one file at a time. Keep it cool and don’t open any additional programs.

Let us know how it goes.

—E
de W6EL

My build method.

$ copy fullbuild-wfview.sh fullbuild-wfserver.sh

fullbuild-wfserver.sh in
qmake …/wfview/wfview.pro
of
qmake …/wfview/wfserver.pro
change to.

$ ./fullbuild-wfserver.sh

If there are no problems with the dependencies, you can build it in about 20 minutes with RPI3 using SSH.

However, as eliggett explains, you need to ‘Keep it cool and don’t open any additional programs.’

de JG3HLX

1 Like

Hi all

i managed to compile without -j parameter. It did took a while and while doing so, ssh became stuck…but I left it overnight. So I do have BananaPiM5 with eMMC onboard running wfserver.