Icom IC7300 serial to IP and connecting by remote over internet?

New to this program, but I like what I see on it. I’ve been remoting radios for about 10 years or so. I see this program can give the IC7300 and IP address to remote control.

I can connect fully with the radio on the connected computer with wfview. I’m not getting the remote computer to work. I have set up the IP on the program and Port forwarding to the connected computer.

If I enter in the wrong password on the remote computer it tells me the password or username is wrong, but if its correct I don’t get any messages and I don’t seem to have a connection.

I’m not sure what that means.

My router has the IP address of the radio listed as a connected device, so I think all is good on that end.

Any ideas of what I need to look at?
Thanks.

Hi Erik.

The USB Server part of wfview is still quite ‘new’ and isn’t really ready for ‘prime time’ yet. I haven’t actually tried sharing a USB connected radio that way so leave it with me and I will do some testing.

73 Phil M0VSE

Okay great, thanks Phil.

Yes, I see this is all new and under development. I appreciate what you guys are doing.

In any case, what testing I was able to do, the COM to IP bridge seems to work at least partially. The radio is assigned an IP address and can be seen in the routers connected devices.

I tried connecting through the local network and threw the public network by remote computer, both give me the same sort of responses. It seems like it thinks it’s connected but no data is being transferred.

It is a little confusing on the setup but maybe this is where the disconnect is. In the “Settings” tab you have the option to enable USB or enable LAN, but not both. If I select enable LAN I don’t see how the programs knows how to connect to the radio. You can’t have both selected at the same time to enable selecting the COM port of the radio.