Remote control of IC7300 over LAN

I’m a complete noobie here so bear with me please. I have an IC7300 in an outside workshop connected to wfview on a Raspberry Pi400. This works great. However, when I try to get remote control over LAN from a Win10 PC in the house I cannot get a connection.

CI-V transceive is set to ON on the rig. The control port is 50001 as standard. The rig CI-V address is unchanged at x94. A network user name and password are set up on the server end and the same details are in the client. Pressing the client connect button produces a message saying wfview is using the CI-V address of x94 but no connection results.

Netstat on the Pi shows ports 50001, 50002 and 50003 as in use by wfview but the state column is blank. A similar check on the PC does not list anything as using these ports.

I’m obviously missing something somewhere. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Roger G8JWT

HI Roger.

Try disabling ‘manual CIV’ on both the client and server and allow wfview to auto-detect it. I find that sometimes the remote client cannot detect the rig type if manual CIV is enabled.

73 Phil M0VSE

Hi Phil. Thanks for your reply.

I tried disabling manual CI-V on both client and server but it made no difference. Playing around with the client settings I found that enabling manual CI-V and “use as model too” together enabled the client to think it is connected and it shows “IC-7300” in the bottom right of the screen. However, the server end says there is no connection and indeed the client View tab doesn’t show any signs of control.

Roger

Hello,
I had at my Raspi for remote access Any Desk running and as far as I remember I had to use an other port than 50001 => used 50004 to be able to connect. Check for similar Problem. Use other ports.
73, Michael