RPi 3B+ as server?

Sorry, but I am a novice on both RPa and Linux. I have a RPi3B+ that I so far have tested using remotetx.net service. But I would have liked to be able to use a free service and Wfview came to my mind. My thought was setting op the RPi as a server and connect my IC-7100 via USB. Has anyone any ideas on this ?

73s de Geir/LA5ZO

Not tried a RPi3b+ but its worth a try, and easily done, but you may find the Network interface to be a bottleneck. I have used an RPi4 -2gb as a server and that worked very well for serving, cannot - yet - get the RPi4 to work well as a client though. Give it a try, nothing lost other than an hour or two of entertainment !!. 73 Mike

p.s. RPi4 are now becoming available again at ‘sensible’ prices. Check-out https://rpilocator.com/ for availability every few days or so.

Sorry enough I never could get the IC7100 to work remotely as the picture shows so nice and simple…

The server connects to the IC7100 CAT part but not audio wise no audio on the server
It is simple to configure the server for remote access but my cliet PC on the same subnet and firewall opened for Wfvie both sides
the only sign of live at the client site is a short message saying the IC7100 was found picture below.
I hope to have it working one day thanks for all effort

Jaap

Hi Jaap,

The important part is to make sure that on the server, in Settings → Radio Server section, you select the correct audio devices. These MUST be the USB Audio Codec devices provided by the radio. This is the only audio configuration needed on the server (the other audio settings aren’t used)

The only other thing to make sure is that you leave CI-V address set to auto on both the client and server and enable CI-V transceive on the radio.

73 Phil M0VSE

Hi Geir,

The 7100 can work just exactly as you are thinking. We have tested it like that.

You will need to read the manual of wfview, especially the chapters about remote operation.