Using Wfview + VB-Cable, FreeDV IC705

Howdy all,

New user here. Just installed Wfview on my MAC (not a truck) laptop.

Also installed VB-Cable and already had FreeDV installed and was using it via a USB connection.

Using Wfview and VB-Cable I was able to get FreeDV to connect to Wfview so I can now use digital voice with the IC705 over my LAN via wifi!

It was a tad frustrating to set up but once I “got my head on straight” it’s actually working quite well.

Anyone else out there using WfView with the IC705 and FreeDV?

73/Rick
WA6III

Hi Rick,

I haven’t tried that but it sounds really neat!

I hat is your experience like with FreeDV overall? Is it difficult to find people that also have it?

—E
de W6EL

Hi Elliot!

Thanks for the interest! I have been using FreeDV since around 2010 or so when they first started developing it.

There’s really good info @ https://freedv.org/ And there a bit of interesting history @ FDMDV - Frequency Division Multiplex Digital Voice

I started using FDMDV until they said the original MELP voice codec was originally owned by someone (Motorola?) that didn’t want it being used on amateur radio (or maybe it was considered proprietary etc)

More history here: https://melp.org/

In any Case, A Phd ham in Australia wrote a new voice codec (Codec 2) that is completely open source to replace MELP and another group of smart ham-developers rewrote the FDMDV GUI and FreeDV was sort of born of all of it!

The newest version of FreeDV has a built-in “FreeDV Reporter” that shows who is operating RX/TX in real time. The web based site is https://freedv-reporter.k6aq.net/

The above info is also incorporated into the latest version of FreeDV so you can see who’s actually on and when you transmit, you can see in real-time the SNR they see from anyone transmitting etc.

It’s VERY cool.

Last month, I had a QSO with a friend in Oregon about 50 miles east of Portland (I’m about 15miles E of Tacoma, WA)