Remote operation of a portable station

I’m new to Wfview, and trying to work out whether it can be used in the following situation:

If we have a contest station on a remote hilltop, with no internet connection other than a WiFi hotspot running on a 4G mobile phone, can Wfview be configured to allow remote operators (plural) of the station?

• What would be the appropriate configuration?
  • How will the remote operators initiate the connection? (Bearing in mind that a mobile hotspot does not have a fixed IP)

Any advice appreciated…

Hi Russell,

What you propose should be possible. The difficulty may be in how to work incoming connections from other places into the cellular connection, through the hotspot, and into the pi. There are definitely plenty of ham radio applications where this has come up (asterisk/allstar comes to mind).

In general, I would think that having the Pi automatically join a VPN would be a good idea, because then you won’t have to fuss with mapping ports or seeing what ports work on your LTE system. However, there can be some issues with UDP on VPNs, in particular if the VPN fragments the packets.

A quick google search yeilds some interesting tricks using ssh to set up a UDP-friendly tunnel, for example:

You could do as above with pre-shared ssh keys to automate the ssh login, and then create a service that runs on startup to do it.

Please let us know how it goes, there will be many that are interested in this sort of system.

–Elliott
de W6EL

Thanks for that response. Yes, that should be possible to initiate the call from the contest station, but if we have more than one remote operator then I’m wondering if the following might be possible:

1. Contest station running Wfview sets up a VPN call to a known internet location - for example, my house.
  2. At my location, I run Wfview, and connect the two instances. I can now operate the contest station remotely.